Every free window sticker lookup, compared
Five tools return a factory window sticker by VIN for free, for at least some makes. Four of them, including this one, need no account. The differences that matter are which brands each can produce an original PDF for, whether you get rate-limited partway through, and what happens when there is no original: two of the five send you to an $8.99 recreation.
Every cell read off each tool’s own live page on . This page is published by one of the five, so treat the note in the first row accordingly.
| Tool | Account | Limit | Original PDF | Public API |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| windowsticker.org | No | None | Yes, unmodified; Nissan’s own copy for Nissan and Infiniti | Yes, keyless and CORS-open |
| CarWhere | No | None | Yes for 12 makes; archived copies for Toyota, Lexus and Kia | A widget and API at $99/month per rooftop |
| CarEdge | Free account required | 3 lookups every 10 minutes | Yes | Not offered |
| windowstickerlookup.com | No | Not stated | For 10 makes, via iSeeCars; the rest go to an $8.99 recreation | Not offered |
| monroneystickerbyvin.com | No | Not stated | For 10 makes, via iSeeCars; otherwise a paid recreation | Not offered |
What each one is actually good at
- windowsticker.org
- Twenty makes return a label: Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, GMC, Buick, Cadillac, Jeep, Ram, Dodge, Chrysler, Fiat, Alfa Romeo, Subaru, Kia, Hyundai, Genesis, Toyota, Lexus, Nissan and Infiniti. Toyota and Lexus only from the 2025 model year on, through a dealer-website platform’s service. Nissan and Infiniti come as Nissan’s copy of the factory label, stamped “Unofficial Copy”. Ford and Lincoln only while a vehicle is new: Ford puts labels online just for cars “currently in production, recently delivered, or … a new vehicle on a Ford Dealer’s lot”. Everything else returns a specification decode, not a label.
- CarWhere
- The closest match to this site, and further along: far more pages, a Chrome extension, and its own dated coverage table. Its tool page says “free, with no account, no signup, no credit card, and no lookup limit”, and the site also sells a $9.99 VIN report and a $12.99/month PRO plan. It serves Chevrolet, GMC, Buick, Cadillac, Ford, Lincoln, Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Hyundai and Genesis live. It doesn’t serve Kia, Subaru, Toyota or Nissan live, and says Kia “blocks automated lookups”. For Toyota, Lexus and Kia it serves archived copies where it has them on file, older Toyotas among them, which this site can’t serve.
- CarEdge
- Its own page reads “Create a free account” and “Takes 10 seconds. No credit card. You get 3 lookups every 10 minutes.” It claims 17 brands, Mazda among them, which this site has found no public source for. Nissan, Infiniti, Hyundai and Genesis aren’t on its list.
- windowstickerlookup.com
- It runs on iSeeCars: its privacy policy names iSeeCars.com as its “data-service provider”, and every VIN goes there. Chevrolet, Buick, Cadillac, Lincoln and the six Stellantis brands go to iSeeCars’ free original-sticker page. Ford, GMC, Subaru, Kia, Hyundai, Toyota, Nissan and 24 more makes go to a “partner site”, iSeeCars, whose own page sells a recreated sticker for $8.99.
- monroneystickerbyvin.com
- Also sends every VIN to iSeeCars. It lists free originals for Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Lincoln, Buick, Cadillac and Chevrolet, and says “if a free original sticker isn’t available, we partner with iSeeCars … to provide high-quality recreations”. So Ford, GMC and Subaru go to the paid recreation. It also has the best explainer content in the category by a distance: over 5,000 words and a 38-question FAQ on reading a label.
Where this site loses
Worth saying plainly, since we are one of the five. CarWhere covers more ground: many more pages, a browser extension, and archived Toyota and Lexus labels from before 2025, which we cannot serve. CarEdge claims Mazda, which we have found no source for. Our Toyota, Lexus, Nissan and Infiniti labels come through one dealer platform’s service that could close any day. And monroneystickerbyvin.com has written a better guide to reading a label than anything here.
What this site does that the others do not is publish the tests. Every coverage claim on the brand-by-brand page is something we ran against a real VIN, including the failures. And the API is keyless and has no commercial tier, so anyone can build on it without asking.
The part none of them solve
Honda never offered its labels online, and Toyota’s only go back to the 2025 model year. Between them that is a large share of the cars on American roads. Anything sold to you as a Honda “window sticker”, or an older Toyota’s, is a recreation, an archived copy, or came from a dealer.
Common questions
Which free window sticker lookup is best?
It depends on the make. For the GM and Stellantis brands most of these return the manufacturer’s PDF, and the difference is whether you need an account. Ford is narrower than it looks everywhere: Ford publishes online copies only for vehicles “currently in production, recently delivered, or … a new vehicle on a Ford Dealer’s lot”, so for a Ford you already own none of these can fetch the original from Ford, and windowstickerlookup.com and monroneystickerbyvin.com send Ford, GMC and Subaru to a paid iSeeCars recreation. Ford sells a reprint of the original for 2008 and later through Ford Show Parts. For Kia and Subaru, CarWhere has no live source. For Toyota and Lexus this site covers the 2025 model year on; for older ones CarWhere serves archived copies where it holds them. For Honda none of them can return an original, because Honda doesn’t publish one.
What is the difference between an original sticker and a recreation?
An original is the PDF the manufacturer filed against that VIN. A recreation rebuilds the layout from build and option-code data; it looks right and the pricing can be materially wrong. CarEdge has publicly argued that recreation data can be off by hundreds or thousands of dollars per vehicle, which is a fair point and one reason this site returns nothing rather than a reconstruction.
Why do these tools disagree about which brands are covered?
Because "covered" means different things. Some sites count a brand as covered if they can produce any document for it, including a recreation or an archived copy. This site counts a brand only if a live source returned the label for a real VIN we tested: the manufacturer’s own service for most makes, and a dealer-website platform’s service for Toyota, Lexus, Nissan and Infiniti.
Do any of them need a credit card?
None of the five needs one for a free lookup. CarEdge is the only one that requires an account, and it says no credit card is needed. windowstickerlookup.com and monroneystickerbyvin.com send the makes they can’t serve free to iSeeCars, where a recreated sticker costs $8.99. CarWhere sells a $9.99 VIN report and a $12.99/month PRO plan beside its free tool.